Accepting NO review requests

As of 28 February 2016, due to decline in my health and chronic illness

Friday, November 27, 2015

SURROUNDED BY ENEMIES by Bryce Zabel_Tour





Review:



I've been a "What If?" person as long as I can remember: the kind of individual with a curious bent of mind who needs to examine the road not taken. So it's no wonder that alternative history is one of my lifelong interests. What If the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor had been circumvented? What If Hitler occupied Britain? What If William the Conqueror didn't conquer? And so forth. Of course, one of the biggies of the last 50 years: what if JFK wasn't assassinated?

To make alternative history live, it must be believable, deeply researched, and well-written. I give you SURROUNDED BY ENEMIES. Mr. Zabel has the advantage of 5 decades of historians' studying the Kennedy Administration, and JFK himself. Many secrets have been opened that contemporaries of the Kennedy Brothers couldn't access. The result is not a pretty rendering of Kennedy's Camelot as an Arcadia; but it is compelling, and a keeper.SURROUNDED BY ENEMIES should be required reading for students and authors of alternative history.

Synopsis:

cover

What if Kennedy survived Dallas?

President John F. Kennedy has lived through the ambush in Dealey Plaza. America holds its collective breath, seeing its president nearly executed in broad daylight. But as the country marches on, the office of the President finds itself under a much more insidious type of fire. Political scandal, an endless war, and a country coming apart at the seams take the 1960’s in a terrifying new direction, and both John and his attorney-general brother, Bobby, struggle to stay ahead of their enemies, political and otherwise, and steer America toward a greater future.

Bryce Zabel is a master of the cover-up and the conspiracy, creating the Emmy-award winning series DARK SKIES. SURROUNDED BY ENEMIES is the first novel in the new Breakpoint series—each book exploring seminal moments in popular history and taking readers on a journey into a mirror world where events are both unexpected yet startlingly believable.

This savvy, fiercely intelligent novel, perfect for readers of Harry Turtledove, brings together elements of political thriller and page-turning history, enthralling readers with a sharply written take on the America that was, and the America that could have been.


"I have some experience with shattered timelines and altered realities but this one kept me guessing every page.”

~ Damon Lindelof, writer/producer of LOST, STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS

"Plausible development, building from what we know about what really did go on, and a whacking good story…SURROUNDED BY ENEMIES delivers on both, big-time. So hold on to your hats, folks. You’re in for quite a ride.”

~ Harry Turtledove, alternative history author, HOW FEW REMAIN

Author Bio:

BRYCE ZABEL: Writer/Producer - Journalist/Author Creator of Five Produced One-hour Drama Series... Chairman/CEO of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences... Writer of a #1 Box Office Feature Film... Winner of the Writers Guild Award... PBS Investigative Reporter... CNN Correspondent... Nationally Published Book Author... Adjunct Professor, USC School of Cinematic Arts... member of Directors Guild, Writers Guild... BZ Wordle 4 Worked with ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, HBO, Showtime, USA, SyFy, Disney, Warners, Columbia, SONY, Paramount, New Line, Twentieth, Universal, DreamWorks, Animal Planet, Hallmark, etc. Produced screenwriting credits include Atlantis, Mortal Kombat II, Pandemic, Dark Skies, The Crow, E.N.G., Blackbeard, Poseidon Adventure, Lois & Clark, M.A.N.T.I.S., L.A. Law, Victim of Love, Official Denial, etc. Appeared on Today Show, Primetime Emmys, E.T., Access, E!, Coast-to-Coast AM, Politically Incorrect, CNN, etc. Interviewed by Time, NY/LA Times, USA

Catch Up:
author's website http://www.brycezabel.com/​
author's twitter https://twitter.com/brycezabel​
author's facebook https://www.facebook.com/AfterDisclosure

Book Details:


Genre: Mystery, Alternate History
Published by: Diversion Books
Publication Date: November 3rd 2015
Number of Pages: 265
ISBN: 1626818290 (ISBN13: 9781626818293)
Series: Breakpoint, 1
Purchase Links:
Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Surrounded-Enemies-Breakpoint-Bryce-Zabel/dp/1626818290​
Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/surrounded-by-enemies-bryce-zabel/1122473224?ean=9781626818293​
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26074260-surrounded-by-enemies

Additional Images:

  

1 comment:

  1. Sounds like an interesting look at what might have been. Thanks so much for introducing us to this alternate history thriller and sharing your thoughts on it with us.

    ReplyDelete

FURTHERMORE