Accepting NO review requests

As of 28 February 2016, due to decline in my health and chronic illness

Friday, May 29, 2015

TOUR: DISINTEGRATION by Richard Thomas [Windy City Dark Mystery Book One]




About Disintegration: A Windy City Dark Mystery
Published by : Alibi (May 26, 2015)
Pages: 223 | ISBN: 978-1-101-88262-7
In a brilliantly stylish breakthrough thriller for fans of Bret Easton Ellis’s American Psycho and Will Christopher Baer’s Kiss Me, Judas, here is the compelling tale of a man who has lost it all—and is now navigating a crooked, harrowing path to redemption.
Once a suburban husband and father, now the man has lost all sense of time. He retains only a few keepsakes of his former life: a handmade dining room table, an armoire and dresser from the bedroom, and a tape of the last message his wife ever left on their answering machine. These are memories of a man who no longer exists. Booze and an affair with a beautiful woman provide little relief, with the only meaning left in his life comes from his assignments. An envelope slipped under the door of his apartment with the name and address of an unpunished evildoer. The unspoken directive to kill. And every time he does, he marks the occasion with a memento: a tattoo. He has a lot of tattoos.
But into this unchanging existence seep unsettling questions. How much of what he feels and sees can he trust? How much is a lie designed to control him? He will risk his own life—and the lives of everyone around him—to find out.
“Sweet hot hell, Richard Thomas writes like a man possessed, a man on fire, a guy with a gun to his head. And you’ll read Disintegration like there’s a gun to yours, too. A twisted masterpiece.”—Chuck Wendig, author of Blackbirds and Double Dead
“Disintegration is gritty neo-noir; a psycho-sexual descent into an unhinged psyche and an underworld Chicago that could very well stand in for one of the rings of Dante’s Hell. Richard Thomas’ depraved-doomed-philosopher hitman is your guide. I suggest you do as he says and follow him, if you know what’s good for you.”—Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Little Sleep

Purchase Links
Amazon  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N6PEWFA?ie=UTF8&tag=randohouseinc-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00N6PEWFA
 
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23308200-disintegration

Alibi on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/readalibi?fref=ts

About Richard Thomas
Richard Thomas is an award-winning writer whose work has appeared in more than a hundred publications. Nominated for five Pushcart Prizes, he is the author of the novel Transubstantiate and two short-story collections, Herniated Roots and Staring into the Abyss. Thomas lives with his family in the Chicago area.

Richard Thomas’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS
Tuesday, May 26th: SJ2B House of Books
Wednesday, May 27th: The Scary Reviews
Wednesday, May 27th: Crime Fiction Lover
Thursday, May 28th: It’s a Mad Mad World
Friday, May 29th: Mallory Heart Reviews
Monday, June 1st: A Reader’s Oasis
Tuesday, June 2nd: Kari J. Wolfe – Author, Editor, Entrepreneur
Wednesday, June 3rd: Bell, Book & Candle
Thursday, June 4th: The Qwillery
Friday, June 5th: Kari J. Wolfe – Author, Editor, Entrepreneur – Q&A
Monday, June 8th: Priscilla and her Books
Thursday, June 11th: FictionZeal
Monday, June 15th: Patricia’s Wisdom
Wednesday, June 17th: My Bookish Ways
Monday, June 22nd: W.A.R.G. – The Writer’s, Artist’s & Reader’s Guild
Friday, June 26th: From the TBR Pile

GIVEAWAY:
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/MjM1YmFiZTdlYjI3MzI3YWI0NTU3Mjk0OWM3MTIyOjIyNQ==/?


Review: DISINTEGRATION by Richard Thomas
[Windy City Dark Mystery Book One]

Author Richard Thomas places DISINTEGRATION in the category of "Neo-Noir," and I'd agree. Imagine Dashiell Hammett gone post-modern. There's certainly no sweetness and light here, nor is there intended to be. The protagonist is a man existing at the minimum level of existence: food, alcohol, occasional physical (without emotional connection) intimacy, killing on order. His mind is sometimes filled with a void, other times with memories of the loved ones he's lost. The ending is a real kicker; totally unexpected to me, and I can't put it out of my mind.


No comments:

Post a Comment

FURTHERMORE